How to get a Texas Drivers License
Getting a DPS Texas License is required by law. All new residents of Texas must apply for a DPS Texas license within 90 days of moving to the state. Don’t worry, if you don’t know how to get a Texas driver’s license we’re here to help. Not only will we tell you how to get a Texas drivers license, we’ll also provide you with a list of DPS Texas license locations and forms so that you don’t have to ask your friend or family member how to get a Texas drivers license because you’ll have all of the tools you need!
If you are under the age of 18 and applying for your DPS Texas License, the State of Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) requires that you must not only meet the Texas licensing requirements but also additional Texas license requirements, including the Texas graduated driver licensing law and the completion of a DPS approved drivers ed course.
Let’s take a closer look at how to get a Texas drivers license…
Texas Drivers Education
Texas law prohibits the issuance of a DPS Texas license to any person under the age of twenty-five who has not successfully completed an approved Texas drivers ed course. Many private companies are approved by the DPS to offer either classroom drivers education or online drivers education or both. Texas drivers ed is also be offered in many Texas high schools. A lot of kids ask about how to get a Texas drivers license, but virtually all of the forms and tools they need to obtain not only a permit but a DPS Texas license can be found online.
Adult drivers ed for unlicensed Texas residents ages 18 to 24, is now available to be taken online. The final exam at the end of the course counts as the written DPS Texas license exam; therefore, people who complete the Texas adult drivers ed class are not required to re-take the DPS Texas license written exam when they go to the Texas DPS to apply for a DPS Texas license.
Online parent taught drivers ed, for drivers 14-17 years of age, is without question the easiest and most affordable means of satisfying the driver education requirement for new drivers. Through our special partnerships, you will get an exclusive 10% discount! The Parent Taught Driver Education (PTDE) is a driver education course where the teen’s parent or legal guardian administers both the classroom and in-car drivers ed instruction. No longer do teenagers have to ask about how to get a Texas drivers license because the online PTDE driver ed program provides everything the teen and his or her parent will need to earn a DPS Texas license.