Adult Driver Ed course
For Adults Ages 18-24. Get your permit & license
- Approved by the Texas TDLR (formerly the TEA)
- Lowest Price Guaranteed
- No long lines or classrooms – 100% Online
- Satisfies DPS Written Exam Requirement
- Get form ADE1317 to apply for your license
Sale – $36.00
On March 1, 2010, Texas implemented a mandatory Texas Adult Drivers Ed requirement. Adult drivers who are 18 to 24 years old and want to apply for a new drivers license in Texas must complete an online Texas adult drivers ed course. You can take this course in a classroom or online, which is less expensive and more convenient since you can start-and-stop the program as needed. If you just moved to Texas and still have your license from the other state, or if you’ve never even had a drivers license and are wondering what the Texas drivers license requirements are, the first step is to enroll in a Texas drivers license online course. You can now complete an adult driver education course online!
Since Texas drivers license requirements were updated in 2010, there are a few schools in Texas that have been approved by the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation to offer the 6-hour adult driver education course online. If you want to satisfy the Texas drivers license requirements, we definitely recommend an online adult driver education course over attending an actual adult driver education classroom for the following reasons:
–More Economical. Texas adult driver education course classroom programs can cost as much as $300. You can satisfy the exact same Texas drivers license requirements online for between $30 and $50.
–No Driving Required. Online adult driver education course providers use the most innovative web-based technology to bring you courses that are inexpensive, engaging and fun! There is no reason to spend money on gas or your time in the car driving to a classroom adult driver education course. Whether you take your adult driver education course online or in a classroom, you are meeting the same Texas drivers license requirements either way.
-More Convenient. A classroom-based adult driver education course means sitting through a six hour class listening to an instructor go on-and-on about the merits of safe driving. An online adult driver education course can be taken in multiple sessions, from any computer with internet access. If you get tired, simply log-out. For busy adults with chaotic schedules, this type of flexibility makes the online adult driver education course format ideal. Satisfying your Texas drivers license requirements has never been easier!
The Texas Adult Driver Education Course contains 9 chapters of instruction plus a final exam, for a total of six hours of internet-based instruction. The chapters are followed by easy multiple-choice quizzes. You’ll get 3 attempts to pass the final exam with a score of 70% or better.
The Texas adult driver education course final exam consists of 30 questions – 15 road sign questions and 15 traffic law questions. The final exam is the same test as the DPS Written Exam, so you will not have to re-take the written exam when you go to the DPS to apply for a license.
Once you pass the Texas adult driver education course, you will be issued a completion certificate (form ADE 1317) which you will present at the DPS Texas as evidence of your completion of the Texas drivers license requirements for adults. Upon receipt of your Texas adult driver education course completion certificate, the DPS Texas will administer a vision test and driving test. If you pass both tests, you will satisfy all Texas drivers license requirements and they will issue you a driver’s license!
- Present documents at the DPS Texas to confirm US citizenship and identity.
- Present your social security card. If you don’t have one, a Social Security Affidavit form must be completed at the DPS.
- Have current evidence of TX vehicle registration and TX auto insurance for all vehicles that you own.
- Have a completed TX driver license application form.
- Get your photograph and finger-prints taken, and sign the TX drivers license application in front of the presiding DPS officer.
- Have a certificate of completion from a licensed online adult driver education course (if you don’t, you’ll have to take the written DPS test).
- Pass the driving and vision tests.
- Pay the application fee by money order or check.
- Present proof of current liability insurance, Texas vehicle registration, and inspection for the vehicle that you bring to the DPS for your driving test.
Registering for a Texas adult driver education course is easy. If you are ready to sign-up in a Texas Adult Driver Education course that satisfies the Texas drivers license requirements, click here to get started.
New residents or unlicensed residents ages 18 and up who are applying for their first Texas license will need to take the 6-hour adult drivers education course, instead of the teen course. The teen course is for students ages 14-17 and 1/2.
You cannot get your drivers license under the age of 25 without having first completed a state-approved drivers education program. The adult course is mandatory for all Texas adults ages 18-24.
Drivers ed is not required for first-time adult drivers age 25 or above. However, it does give you the knowledge and skills required to operate a motor vehicle in Texas. Plus, the online final exam satisfies the DPS written exam requirement so you won’t have to take it again at the DPS.
Yes! Our online adult driver education course is 100% approved by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR), formerly called the Texas Education Agency (TEA), and meets all DPS requirements for a Texas drivers license.
Yes, all participants in the online course must verify their identities while taking the course and before taking the final exam. This is accomplished using Voice Biometrics, which requires you to record a voice sample at the beginning of the course and then validates that voice samples at various points during the course.
This Texas adult drivers ed course is 6 hours long, as required by the TDLR. The course may be taken at your convenience from any computer, laptop, tablet or mobile device. This flexibility allows you to complete some of the course from home, at work or anywhere else where you can get onto the internet.
This course s divided into two primary sections: Road Safety and Road Signs. These two sections are then covered on the final exam (which is the equivalent of the DPS Written exam), and you must score 70% or better on each section in order to pass the test and get your ADE 1317 completion form which is required for you to apply for a Texas License.
Our preferred Adult Drivers Ed course provider has been offering this course since it was approved in 2012. They have graduated hundreds of thousands of students and are therefore able to offer the best online course at the lowest possible price in Texas. Plus, their course is fully mobile-responsive and will automatically scale to whatever device you are using — your computer, laptop, smart phone or tablet.